Staying strong

Today it is four weeks since I quit. I sit here and think, it has been so difficult to get here and at the same time, so easy. I read a post today from a former smoker, he said the way he did it was thinking every day: “yesterday it was the worst day ever, I don’t want to go through it again, so I won’t smoke today”. Even when it is really difficult to spend your day having cravings for a smoke, you don’t want to go through it again, so it is easier to stay strong than to give in and then have to go from the beginning again.

In my case, it hasn’t been such a daily struggle, as I just pictured myself as a non-smoker, and assumed that was it. That is how I want it to be. Smoke free, or at least, not being me the one bringing the damage to my table (in this case, my lungs). But I thought that was a really positive way of thinking, not only for quitting, but for everything in life. Sometimes we are the ones making it difficult, but not being strong enough, by not holding to our promises, by lying to other people…at the end, we have to do things again to do them properly.

So lesson learned (at least the theory), another mantra to get into my head, to help me in the path of finding myself and how I really want to live my life.

Stay strong!!!

Leave a Reply

